An Appeal Upon Returning.

Hello again,

It’s been longer than I realized since I’ve written here, and I have some ideas on how I’d like to improve my blog as I return to it. I think it will help me organize my ideas if I refocus on a few major topics. Writing and books, science and other geeky news, and gaming, mostly. There will still be an occasional recipe and other randomness, because I love finding new things to share.

Today I’ve signed up for an event on short notice, and I’m sorry I couldn’t give more fair warning. I’m seeking sponsors for the Extra Life gaming marathon this Saturday, October 15th. I’ll be playing one of my favorite old MMOs – Anarchy Online.

Here’s a link to my sponsor page:

Extra Life - Play Games. Heal Kids.

All the proceeds from the marathon are going to support Children’s Miracle Network hospitals. I’m playing in support of UH Rainbow Babies & Children’s Hospital here in Cleveland, Ohio. I think it’s hard to find a family in Cleveland whose life hasn’t been touched by the skilled teams at this hospital. I had friends growing up who might not have lived without the care they received there. And I have friends now whose children are thriving thanks to their incredible doctors.

I’ll be straight-up honest with you guys: I don’t plan to play a full 24 hours on this. I just can’t with my family’s crazy schedule. They come first, gaming is just for fun. I just thought it might be nice to use my fun time to give back a little. If you have the money to spare, please click through and pledge what you can. All donations are 100% tax-deductible.

Thanks for your support,

Geargoyle

One thought on “An Appeal Upon Returning.

  1. Hey! This post could not be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this post to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

