Cinnamon Rolls

Cinnamon Rolls

Cinnamon Rolls by The Geargoyle

I just wanted to share with you all that the cinnamon rolls are a great success! My little guy helped with the mixing, and we had a lot of fun. These grew a bunch, and boy are they sweet and yummy! I worked from the ‘no yeast’ recipe at MomsWhoThink.com ( Link ) with some small modifications. The dough and filling were pretty much as they had them, but since I didn’t have the stuff for cream cheese frosting I just whipped up a simple icing (1 cup confectioner’s sugar with about 1 or 2 Tbsp. of milk, stirred until smooth – you can add a little vanilla if you like, just cut back on the milk.) I left a few without icing since my hubby likes them less sweet. As a warning: I had some of the cinnamon-sugar filling bubble up out of my cake tin, so you might want to put a cookie sheet on the rack below these when they bake.

Anyone who likes cinnamon rolls should try this recipe. The taste could give those fancy mall stores a run for their money. With such simple, cheap ingredients, you can whip these up any time you’re having a sweet tooth attack!

Cinnamon Rolls (without yeast)

Ingredients:

Dough:

2 and 1/2  cups flour, plus extra for your counter
2  Tbsp regular sugar
1 and 1/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 and 1/4 cups buttermilk  (if you don’t have it, add a tsp of vinegar to regular milk)
6 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted and divided

Filling:

3/4 cup packed brown sugar – I used light, they called for dark
1/4 cup white granulated sugar
3 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp salt
1 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted

Directions:

1. Heat your oven to 425°. Grease a 9 inch round cake pan and set aside.

2. Combine the filling ingredients until it looks like damp sand. Set aside for later.

3. Mix the dough: In a large bowl, stir together the first five dry ingredients.

4. In another bowl, mix the buttermilk and 2 Tbsp of the melted butter together.

5. Mix the wet mixture into the dry mixture until combined. The dough will be a bit wet and sticky.

6. Flour your counter and hands well, then knead the dough until smooth, it only takes about a minute.

7. Shape the dough into a 9 by 12 inch rectangle using your hands or a floured rolling pin.

8. Brush 2 Tbsp of the melted butter onto the dough, then sprinkle on the filling, leaving a little border. Press the filling onto the dough.

9. Loosen the dough from the counter with a spatula or piece of plain dental floss.

10. Roll the dough into a log from a long side, pressing lightly to seal the seam.

11. Slice the dough into 8 even pieces and place in your cake pan. There will be some room between them, but they will grow.

12. Brush the tops with the remaining 2 Tbsp of melted butter. Bake until the edges are golden brown, 20-25 minutes.

13. Loosen the buns from the pan with a knife and flip them out onto a wire rack. Turn the buns upright and cool them about 10 minutes before frosting (if desired) with simple icing or cream cheese frosting. (Frosting recipe is at MomsWhoThink.com, link above.)

Geargoyle

24 thoughts on “Cinnamon Rolls

  1. tsonoda148 says:

    Look Yummy! Thanks for the Recipe!

    Terri

  2. Ahaa, its fastidious discussion concerning this piece
    of writing here at this webpage, I have read all that,
    so at this time me also commenting at this place.

  3. Excellent, what a weblog it is! This weblog provides useful data to us, keep it up.

  4. Dwayne says:

    I seldom drop remarks, but i did a few searching and wound up here Cinnamon Rolls | The
    Geargoyle’s Roost. And I actually do have 2 questions for you if you tend not to mind. Could it be only me or does it look like some of the responses look as if they are written by brain dead people? :-P And, if you are writing at other online social sites, I would like to keep up with anything fresh you have to post. Could you list of all of your shared sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  5. Keira says:

    Brewing that optimal mug of coffee as part of your very own
    home drip coffee maker is not that difficult, offered you have got the appropriate equipment, the right water,
    proper filter, and a top quality freshly roasted coffee.
    For centuries last and additionally since recently once
    the early 20th century, it was accepted practise to add ground coffee in order
    to liquid as part of the saucepan, bring it to a boil
    allowing the coffee to permeate the water,
    .

  6. fantastic issues altogether, you just won a new reader.
    What could you suggest in regards to your put up that you made a few days in the past?

    Any positive?

  7. Good day! This is kind of off topic but I need some help
    from an established blog. Is it very difficult to set up
    your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Cheers

  8. Wow, this post is fastidious, my sister is analyzing these
    things, thus I am going to convey her.

  9. Wow, this post is good, my younger sister is analyzing these things,
    thus I am going to tell her.

  10. Good replies in return of this issue with real arguments and explaining
    all concerning that.

  11. patio door says:

    When I was exiting or entering, I would suggest, go for bifold closet Folding Patio
    Doors, there is a series of framed photographs or other art work.
    Fronted by the iconic lyricist Jim Morrison, keyboardist Ray Manzarek, drummer John Densmore and guitarist Robby Krieger.

  12. Hi, I do think this is an excellent site. I stumbledupon it ;) I’m going to come back yet again since I bookmarked it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide others.

  13. What’s up Dear, are you in fact visiting this site on a regular basis, if so afterward you will absolutely obtain nice know-how.

  14. Spot on with this write-up, I seriously believe this
    amazing site needs much more attention. I’ll probably be returning to read more, thanks for the info!

  15. kissimmee says:

    Hello! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could locate a
    captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  16. Hello mates, its great paragraph about cultureand fully
    defined, keep it up all the time.

  17. If you want to take a great deal from this paragraph then
    you have to apply such methods to your won weblog.

  18. Ricardo says:

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after checking through some
    of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I found it
    and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

  19. money site says:

    naturally like your web site but you have to take a look at
    the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Many of them
    are rife with spelling issues and I to find it very troublesome to
    tell the truth on the other hand I will surely come back
    again.

  20. The second reason is landlords are afraid the tenants wilol move out
    if they raise the rents. Your children may find the loft bed frames quite intriguing, but if any one
    of them is still undeer six, wait until they are a little older.
    Article Source: find out more, check out: bunk beds for sale.

  21. Hi my friend! I wish to say that this article is awesome,
    great written and include approximately all vital infos.
    I’d like to peer extra posts like this .

  22. I think that everything published was actually very
    logical. But, think about this, suppose you were to write a
    awesome title? I mean, I don’t want to tell you how to run your website, however what if you added something to possibly get a person’s
    attention? I mean Cinnamon Rolls | The Geargoyle’s Roost is kinda plain.
    You could glance at Yahoo’s front page and see how they create article
    headlines to grab viewers interested. You might add a video
    or a related picture or two to grab readers interested about what you’ve got to say.

    In my opinion, it would bring your website a little livelier.

Leave a Reply

